Home Technical Talk

New to EVERYTHING

polycounter lvl 2
Offline / Send Message
Shylock polycounter lvl 2
Howdy. I'd call myself a complete beginner at this point with learning 3dsmax. I really want to make assets, textures, foliage, etc. for video games at some point. I've been reading up on a lot of things concerning PBR mats and I can grasp the concept but I dont even know where to begin to make these specific maps.. I've been looking at Substance Painter/Designer and being able to add those programs into a PBR workflow would seem like the most reasonable thing to so. But I've also seen where a lot of people use photoshop and Quixel programs or xNormal to generate the maps and stuff. I "plan" on working towards getting a job as an environment artist one day but I dont even know what programs to use to make my grey models look neat lol. I tried to UVunwrap the other day in Max and literally was confused as soon as I saw the checkerboard layout! :poly136: I've dabbled in UE4 and thats not terribly hard to use. I know about making low poly objects for games and using the high poly normal map to add details...but that's as far as I've gotten. I'm trying my best to keep up with what the industry uses so I can be able to keep with with the technology as well, but I'm aware in just a year from now a lot of things will be different. I would really love any kind of advice or pointers on what I should be focusing on learning at this point. By the way: I'm a freshman in college studying animation, where maya is taught with a focus in character rigging and VFX.

Replies

• AdvisableRobin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AdvisableRobin polycounter lvl 10
    First off welcome to the coolest club in the castle.