Home Technical Talk

What is the correct definition of the word Texture?

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
EliasWick polycounter lvl 9
Hello wonderful people! I would like to excuse myself if I have posted this in the wrong thread.

Alright, I've been working as a 3D artist for a couple of years now but, just yesterday realized that I may have used the word Texture incorrect.

For me; a texture is the collection of maps. For example, having a Diffuse, normal and specular map together is a texture for me.

Is that correct or incorrect?

Replies

• Count Vertsalot
    They're all individually and together a texture. A texture is just surface detail, normals, AO, and diffuse all provide surface detail. When combined you get a complete surface detail. Originally, diffuse was the only form of applying texture, by changing the color of the pixels of the rendered polygons.
  • Froyok
    Offline / Send Message
    Froyok greentooth
    I usually define it like that :
    - Texture = individual bitmap file.
    - Texture Set = a collection of bitmap files.

I'm not sure how correct this is, but this the naming convention that I use with my colleagues without any problems.
  • Dan Powell
    Offline / Send Message
    Dan Powell polycounter lvl 5
    I usually define it as followed:

Texture: A single image file acting as a variable in a material. Such as an Albedo texture, which contains the colour variables.

Material: A collection of texture passes which together make up a completed material. In a PBR system, usually a Material would require an Albedo, Normal, Metalness and Glossiness texture.
  • Froyok
    Offline / Send Message
    Froyok greentooth
    Careful as a "material" can also refer to an instance of shader in addition to its textures.
    (That's why I use a "texture set" to designate only the textures and avoid any confusions.)
  • Mcbeardo
    Offline / Send Message
    Mcbeardo polycounter lvl 4