Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Handpainted textures

Hi, teaching myself painted textures in photoshop. I started painting couple days ago.
This is my first created textures from scratch on graphics tablet.
Need some critique on my hand painted look and I'm looking to improve my skills .

Thanks! ;)

22VbQr.jpg

2. DXuLtK.jpg

yaS2sS.jpg

eo0TKA.jpg

AT9Eyu.jpg

Replies

• Odow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Odow polycounter lvl 8
    I would suggest you posting in the 3D forums, where all the handpainters are. you'll get more C&C :)

For you first texture they are good, but you have the same recurrent flaws.

I think your major issue here is that you follow a certain youtube tutorial (I know i saw that way of doing on a youtube video) who teach you to paint random spot of color and used filter on them after to get the form. At least for the brick and rock it's apparent. It's a good technique when properly use, which is not the case here. two natural rock near each other won't have the same gradient at the same place. also your rocks have way too much small zigzag crack, a rock doesn't break like that. tbh nothing works on your rock texture. there's no volume, your highlight are pure white and random. It's your worst one. this is how a pebble floor looks like
    traditional.jpg

I would suggest you to go back to the basic, drop the youtube tutorial, take real life reference and paint from them. because none of those look like they should. for example your 2 wood tutorial, you preset them as plank, but you paint them like they had round relief, just like a real tree. However plank are sanded, they don't have much relief on them, old medieval style could have some slight height difference but surely not round.