Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Fox and chicken: handpainted diorama

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Savannakhet polycounter lvl 11
TLDR: Latest version

matthew-wells-foxtreeren-07.jpg

I'm making a small diorama that will features some foxes and chickens playing hide and seek.

My goals for this piece are:

Trees: I'm not very good at them so I'm making one the central focus of the piece

No Alphas. I want to do low (ish) poly foliage which doesn't use alpha/mask maps because these are pretty expensive in some engines.

Story: My scenes are always a bit sterile so I want the scene to 'tell a story.' It'll be quite simple: some foxes playing hide and seek with some chickens, but hey, you gotta start somewhere.

Characters: I don't do these much either, so I'm going to start with a fox and a chicken; again, simple to begin with.

This is what I have so far.

tumblr_nl5p7vyHSM1tdmr7bo1_1280.jpg

Replies

• Odow
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Odow polycounter lvl 8
    cute^-^

maybe do something more round for the tree top like this one. I think some flower on the grass could be cute and add a Pop of color

Also game engine are strong enough to support tree nowadays, i remember seeing in a blizzard contest post that they allowed up to 1k poly for a tree in WoW and wow isn't the most next gen game by far, you could almost play with the computer you had during vanilla and it will still be okayish.

4c6f0aa2748e078c841415dd6b56e51a.jpg
  • Savannakhet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Um, havn't had much free time lately for one reason or another. Here's an update..

tumblr_nm1kiqWnLe1tdmr7bo1_1280.jpg
  • Savannakhet
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    It's coming along slowly: I need to rebake shadows/ao and the canopy is still very very WIP

tumblr_nn1zl2Vyj11tdmr7bo1_540.jpg
  • ChillyWalrus
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I really really like the way this is going. The scene, the style, the colors and the details.