Home Technical Talk

Experiments in handmade CG input devices

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
MrOneTwo polycounter lvl 12
Modo custom analog controller

(sorry for the video quality)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UwXp9Kt44ek

Hey guys. Wanted to show you my project I was working on past week. I crated it simply because I wanted to check if I can (mostly inspired by what Perna showed here >>LINK<<). I'm studying Automatics and Robotics so I got into microcontrollers programing. It's pretty interesting stuff.

It's a custom analog controller for Modo... It's actually a AVR Atmega8 hook up through UART -> USB to a pc with a potentiometer. It's reading voltage on voltage divier (potentiometer), throwing it to ADC (Analog to Digital Converter) which gives me value between 0 and 1023. It then sends this number to a python program.

I tried to implement some custom controller through C++ program on PC side but it wasn't worth it. There were lots of issues on the way (I'm not a great programmer so...). I never used Python before... in a few days I had working program. With C++ you could probably create better program but this side of things works flawlessy so i don't see reason to abandon Python (especially since it's so easy to use).

Python program uses ModoSock module. It is a wrapper for sockets module. It makes connecting to Modo easier. Thanks to this wrapper you can send commands like you would in Modo (lx.eval and stuff like that). It sends them through a socket to a telnet server which is hosted on Modos side.

Modo supports telnet communication. Just type simple command in Modo and bam - Modo is listening.

Thanks to ModoSock wrapper you can even query command. You can ask Modo what types of items you have selected and it returns list of object types.

+ Pros:

+It works

I wasn't sure I could do something like that... wasn't hard though.

+It's really flexible (software)