Home Technical Talk

computer randomly shuts off

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
CandyStripes05 polycounter lvl 9
So my computer likes to randomly shut off... and it's not a daily occurrence, I'd say bi weekly at best :/ but today it did it twice in a row

first time it happened was back in December and it wouldn't let me turn it back on right away. I took the side panel off let it cool down and eventually got it to turn on and I monitored the temp display on the front of the case and it would bounce around the high 90's to I think the highest I've seen it was 109 maybe 111

but today it allowed me to turn it on right away just to shut off again, I now have the side off and a tiny fan I use on my desk pointed into the case at the PSU and so far so good, the temp reads 94

I have a Cooler Master GX 750W power supply and the fan is not spinning on it right now, I hear that some only come on depending on the load passing through. Is the lack of fan my problem? and I should be looking to replace my PSU or is it something to do with the mobo?

any help is appreciated, thanks.

ps: it has never shut off on me while working on my 3D projects.. just while browsing online :S going to run a virus scan now to play it safe

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Is it 90c? That's very hot. The Cooler Master GX 750W doesn't look like a semi-fanless PSU, so it sounds like it should be spinning.
  • CandyStripes05
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    it's ferinheight, currently at 96.8F and the fan is now spinning
  • Axi5
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Axi5 interpolator
    Open up Event Viewer and check what is happening around the time it shuts off. Windows should write a log of it.
  • ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master