Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

1800's Brass Register PBR

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Matt_Billeci polycounter lvl 7
Finished taking this guy through Substance Painter and Substance Designer. Im pretty stoked for what I have learned from this prop, especially since it is my first time going through the PBR workflow. In the future, I intend on throwing it into an environment soon. Any C&Cs are much appreciated =)

qBGB3m5.jpg

fIWik57.jpg

GppplGF.jpg

Replies

• Luxap
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Luxap polycounter lvl 6
    Hi there Matt_Billeci!

Nice first try!
    The brass and glass look nice and believable to me, have a lot of trouble creating glass in unreal engine so glass amazes me, haha =D.
    The second screenshot is my least favorite, because of the glow that you got on the left model.
    Onto the only "bad" (as in least good bad) are the marble itself but most the cracks in marble. I always imagine marble to have these really distinct kind of lines (See picture below).
    4605927838.jpg
    And about the cracks, I think having some pieces of the cracks a little deeper then other parts will help it fix the problem, maybe go back and model them in for a realistic feel ( but that depends on what the end goal of this piece is ofcourse ).

Anywyas, end of rant, love to see more of your work and super nice first try!

(PS: what is it rendered in?)
  • Matt_Billeci
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Luxap!

-Yeah, I think modeling the cracks might actually give a pretty sweet result. For the cracks, I tried my best to mimic broken/cracked marble, with something like the texture you uploaded showing subtly underneath, however, i lost a lost of the detail and gained noise and height values with the use of dirt and dust.

-I had also attempted to play with some lighting, and tried to add a "cool" light to the side of the register, which got the wonky result in the second screenshot. I'll definitely look to fix that.