Home Unity

Need help making my asset PBR

polycounter lvl 18
Offline / Send Message
capone polycounter lvl 18
So here is a door I made. I'm new to Unity and coming from using Marmoset/Unreal so could do with some help. I have read that Unity5beta right now only deals with the spec/gloss method so am trying that with the standard shader. No idea about lighting with Unity so just using a default directional light. I have an albedo, normal, AO and spec/gloss map.

I guess I'm just looking for advice really, I'm sure that I'm making some obvious errors here! i.e

- Is the material too shiny here?
- need more colour variation in the albedo?
- Need reflection spheres?
- Different lighting needed to make the most of PBR in Unity?
- What is with the tiny white dots?

Any help on any one of these issues would be much appreciated!

KN9Z0lU.jpg

Replies

• stabbington
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    stabbington polycounter lvl 10
    What version of the beta are you running - that one looks quite old now?

The default Standard shader should look like this now - http://grab.by/DuWK

For best results, make sure you're working in linear colour space (Edit > Project Settings > Player > Color Space) and set the camera to HDR in the inspector.

As for shininess, make sure that you have something in the alpha channel of your metal/specular to control the gloss. I'd recommend looking at the dontnod charts for now (we have our own incoming that are a bit more comprehensive) for the correct spec values:

http://seblagarde.wordpress.com/2014/04/14/dontnod-physically-based-rendering-chart-for-unreal-engine-4/

http://seblagarde.wordpress.com/2012/04/30/dontnod-specular-and-glossiness-chart/