Home Technical Talk

Modo - PipelineIO + Vertex Normal Toolkit?

Tzur_H
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Tzur_H polycounter lvl 9
I want to start and use PipelineIO to export my meshes for bake in xNormal to speed workflow a bit. Usually (in Maya) I just set my soft/hard edges by angle and then adjust some edges manually if needed. Since Ariel's script doesn't have that functionality I was wondering if it would be possible to use the vertex normal kit made by James? Will the export script of PipelineIO recognize the soft/hard edges set by the toolkit?

If there's a faster way of doing this please let me know, I'm very new to Modo :D

Another thing, how the hell can I export an OBJ/FBX with only selected polys? Whenever I try to "Export As.." it exports the whole damn scene :poly142:

Thanks for the help!

Replies

• Bek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    If it doesn't support the info from vertex normal toolkit (at a guess it would) you'd just have to use pipelineIO's manual hard/soft edge tag to do so. In fact if the Vertex Normal Toolkit saves that info in the same way as pipelineIO does it could be as simple as renaming a vertex map. Otherwise just use select > sharp or select Toolkits edges and tag them.

Really though if you're exporting a low poly that's going to be using a baked TS normal map you should be setting hard edges by UV seams (a feature pipelineIO has). Unless you also split UV's by 45 degree angles or something like that.

You can't export selected polys natively (afaik) but you can on 701 or higher export the selected mesh item only (right click on the mesh item, export selected layers)