Home Technical Talk

Questions about Game mesh and retopo workflow

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
rayle1112 polycounter lvl 6
Hi folks!

I'm a game design student and this is my first thread on Polycount forums!

I'm working on the first game character for my graduate demo reel. I've finished the modeling stage and going to jump into the game mesh stage. (I'M STUCK AT THIS STAGE :()

The character will be rendered in Marmoset Toolbag.

tdZKQRg.png

QyoBKPi.png

So my questions are:

1. Polycounts: The whole character (except the chimpanzee with dynamesh) has 500k Tris right now. I don't know exactly how low the game mesh should be. (<100k Tris, I guess?).

2. Posing: The chimpanzee hands and feet have to hold the controllers. Should I pose the character before or after the retopo stage? I think the character won't be symmetrical and much harder to retopo If I pose him right now.

3. Game mesh: (Stuck here) The whole model is combined with many different pieces. Some pieces are already in low poly. Can I just delete some edges? or they have to be retopoed completely.

For example: The hand is combined with many different parts like the image below. Should I retopo every single part or just combine everything and retopo the whole group? And also pieces with holes, do I need to close the holes and let the normal map does its job?

IK6ISJJ.png

I would appreciate if anyone can show me some references of hard surface game mesh.

Thanks! :)

Replies

• SuperFranky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SuperFranky polycounter lvl 10
    Rule of thumb: Retopo everything as a continuous mesh if it doesn't have to be animated specifically.

You can and should use your existing topology as a base for low poly.
  • Quack!
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Quack! polycounter lvl 17