Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Crit my student portfolio please :D

Hey all, this is my first portfolio. I am a current college student studying game design and for the next semester and a half we will be working on portfolios
(layout, stuff to put in it, etc. )

http://www.tonyd3d.com/

Replies

• BagelHero
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BagelHero interpolator
    Why isn't everything that's in Game Art and Gallery on the first page, too? That game should be up the top of the first page, like "Look, I know how to incorporate my assets into a pipeline!". I almost clicked off without noticing you had more to show, so get all the art onto page 1.

Cut down some of the art from Gallery, as well, there's some poor pieces. The generically textured buildings floating in space are the main culprits.

Your material definition is pretty poor, as well. Everything looks kinda too spec-y. I'd say revise PBR methods if you're using them, if you're not:
    http://www.marmoset.co/toolbag/learn/pbr-theory
    http://www.marmoset.co/toolbag/learn/pbr-practice
    www.polycount.com/forum/showthread.php?t=136390

Layout is fine as long as you bring everything to the first page. You might want a diorama or something, your list of generic props is a tad underwhelming.

EDIT: Oh, if your break down image is just one larger version of your beauty shot with a wireframe/UV shot... just have that as the image on your main page. Too many clicks for such little pay off. You only need that seperate page if an item has like 3+ other beauty renders, or a turn around/fly through video or extensive breakdown shots. If it's just that one image there's no point for the separate page.

Good luck.
  • tonyd927
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I guess the gallery was for pieces I felt that weren't strong enough to be on the main page.
    Alot of it is really old stuff from late 2013 as well. Im not a very good 3D artist and Im only a student lol :(
    Thanks!
  • BagelHero