Home 2D Art Showcase & Critiques

Concept art

Hey everyone this is my first post on this forum, I am a recent Game Art grad from Full Sail and have been having issues finding work in my field after graduation thought i would post of couple of pics for critique. https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=714255308659258&set=a.112235725527889.25592.100002243865386&type=1

https://scontent-a-ord.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xap1/v/t1.0-9/10690207_713565425394913_7862626078620088437_n.jpg?oh=54763203c348d333936a3c2c9f16b323&oe=54E995E6

Replies

• Stinkhorse
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Stinkhorse polycounter lvl 12
    Well the main thing I can do to help you is point you toward imgur.com which you can use to host and link to your images for free. You'll be able to link to them directly so we can see them in the post using the code image-link-here

As for your art itself, I'd recommend focusing on your rendering of 3D shapes, getting that skin smoother on the various forms. I'm a pencil/sketch artist myself so I'm not going to be able to tell you how directly, but I can point you toward CtrlPaint which has some great video tutorials on exactly the skills you're seeking to improve.
  • benjaminsmith83
  • benjaminsmith83
  • Two Listen
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Two Listen polycount sponsor
    I really think you need to dial back the complexity of your pieces and take some time to practice using your medium. This post might sound harsh, I hesitate to post it, but I hope it isn't viewed as an attack.

These are really all over the place, and don't work as strong images on a very fundamental level - there would be many issues even if they were just linework, so I think you would benefit from nailing a good base before trying to render the shinies on the "T&A", as I'll call it.