Home General Discussion

What is the most important skills for a character modeling?

Pain
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Pain polycounter lvl 9
Hello guys,
I'm a new modeler, and I want to know exactly what skills set is most important for a character modeler, so I can focus on it first to develop myself better :poly121:. As you may already known, there are a lot of skills that a good modeler needs, and these are a few in my opinion:

Imagination/idea
Anatomy understanding
Tools grasp (photoshop, zbrush, 3dsmax, maya...etc)
Sculpting skills
Texturing skills
Retopology (not sure if this is belong to Tools skills set or not)
Drawing skills

From the top to the bottom is equally to higher priority to low. If there is any skills that I'm missing, please add :).

Replies

• Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator
    Pain wrote: »

Imagination/idea
    Anatomy understanding
    Tools grasp (photoshop, zbrush, 3dsmax, maya...etc)
    Sculpting skills
    Texturing skills
    Retopology (not sure if this is belong to Tools skills set or not)
    Drawing skills

Uh......yeah. You pretty much nailed it....don't really know if I can add anything, maybe color theory? Everything else seems fairly accurate :D
  • NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    At the end of the day, the most important skill will be your ability to accurately re-create the male reproductive system. If you were hiring for a character artist position, would you turn down a portfolio filled with perfect dick anatomy?
  • Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator
    NegevPro wrote: »
    At the end of the day, the most important skill will be your ability to accurately re-create the male reproductive system. If you were hiring for a character artist position, would you turn down a portfolio filled with perfect dick anatomy?

Must be referring to the new '3D Shlong Artist' role at Bungie...