Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Lighthouse project - help out a relative beginner with modeling best practices?

greentooth
Offline / Send Message
Carabiner greentooth
A little background: I started learning Maya around 3 months ago, while also having a full-time day job. It's been difficult to get enough time in, but I've been watching a ton of Digitaltutors videos and am really excited about pushing myself to new levels.

I've done lots of bits and pieces, but not a full scene. I decided to recreate this lighthouse (1,2 but not copying that door,3), ideally in a Bioshock Infinite-esque style. I'm not going for an exact re-creation, since it'll be a little stylized, but I'm aiming to use most of the architecture/shapes as inspiration.

Currently I have some of the modeling done, and I wanted to start a thread to check in about how I'm doing before I get too far. I'm pretty intimidated by the level of talent here, so initially I didn't want to post anything until I got to a certain level -- but I realized that I might be able to get there faster with the help of people here. There are a few specific things I'd like feedback on, outlined below. Thanks!

Note: I'll probably modify the door/ add a stair or something, or find ref photos that better depict that area. Right now it looks like it would be hard to step up.

Edit: These are all Maya renders, haven't put it in Unreal yet.

Rendered:
E60RwrB.jpg

1CxTqfi.jpg

Wires:
IVhAzJM.gif
Question: Would I want to delete the separate faces on the bottom edge part, and then just "fill hole" with one solid face?

JhDXgcR.gif
This is to demonstrate how I constructed the windows -- I made holes in the base building mesh, and then constructed the windows as separate objects.

5JxiX8w.gif
Here's the railing. I feel like I might want to cut down polys here, perhaps by doing this...

KdBFcNw.gif