Open sub D

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Rockley Bonner polycounter lvl 12

Replies

• WarrenM
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I think edge/face weighting is where subd is heading ... Once everyone decides on a standard and we can pass weighted meshes back and forth between apps as easily as we can polygons, I think it will be the standerd way to go.

It's certainly what i do on home projects ... Once Mesh Fusion supports edge/face weights it's going to be a whole new world. :)
  • FelixL
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    FelixL polycounter lvl 4
    I've been working for about 3-4 years with a manual chamfer workflow and the last 2 years with opensubd, so here are my pros and cons:

opensubd (or similar):

pros:
    - cleaner basemesh, much easier to make tweaks and changes (no redoing support loops)
    - cleaner subdivided mesh, much better for sculpting since faces are mostly square and the mesh is very evenly subdivided
    - you can UV unwrap the basemesh and thus texture the highpoly quite easily, allowing for a more flexible texturing workflow (i.e. baking to first or third person weapons with different polycounts and UV layouts)

cons:
    - heavier subdivided mesh, you need about one subdivision more for the same surface quality, since with chamfering you automatically add more resolution where it's needed -> on edges and bevels
    - less control over bevel width, since they always depend on the size of the adjacent faces. This means you still need a few control loops to compensate for. If you try it at first, everything looks too blobby and smooth, but with some experience you can get very similar quality to manual chamfer

manual chamfer:

pros:
    - best control over bevel width and appearance
    - lighter subdivided meshes (better for viewport performance and baking)

cons:
    - managing control loops is time consuming and makes tweaks and changes take much longer.