Home General Discussion

Cry Engine VS UE4 VS Marmoset Toolbag

polycounter lvl 10
Offline / Send Message
Christian Cunningham polycounter lvl 10
What one should I use? I am an environment artist. I find that things in marmoset look much better than while in cry engine and ue4. Keep in mind that marmoset tool bag used PBR. As an environment artist should I really have to make my portfolio as I was a level designer? Is it okay to create stunning mealtime environments and just use marmoset instead? Why Do my assets look much better in marmoset? My projects look good in cry engine 3 or UE4 but there is a big difference I put them into marmoset. Help me!

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    For displaying an individual prop or asset, Marmoset Toolbag is the best. In toolbag, there's less compression and optimization going on than you would see in a real game. But also Marmoset is missing a lot of features an environment artist would want to use in a larger scene, mostly in terms of lighting, effects, texture/vertex painting, etc.
  • Rurouni Strife
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rurouni Strife polycounter lvl 10
    ZacD's right on the money. If you want to do an individual prop or diorama, Marmoset is quick and easy to get a great looking result right out of the gate. However, if you're making a full environment as a project-grab Unreal or CryEngine to show you know how a full featured toolset works.

Plus, they're all pretty affordable so why not get Marmoset and one of the other engines?
  • Christian Cunningham
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    alright. As For Cry VS UD4 what is your opinion? I am thinking with UE4 being newer it would be better to use that to show positional studios that I am learning on my own and progressing as an artist. But with that being said should I really put my time and money into something a level designer would be doing in the industry?
  • [Deleted User]
    Options