Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Mechanical Humanoid: The Devil Hawk.

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
KazeoHin polycounter lvl 8
Hey guys. I'm dipping my toes in hardsurface and mechanical modelling with this character I concepted.

He is a giant robot/monster known as the Devil Hawk.

DevilConcept.jpg

This is not a primary priority for me right now, but I've been hammering out bits of work here and there. Please comment, crit and give tips on better hardsurface techniques if possible. I'm a total newb at hardsurface stuff, so please, set me alight and let me burn.

DevilHawkWIP2.jpg

DevilHawkWIP1.jpg

Just the chest and head at the moment. working on the arms and I'm not sure how to approach the torso and hips.

Replies

• Paradyme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Man! This is a REALLY cool design. Can't wait to see the process and final result. In love with it already! :thumbup:
  • Joost
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Joost polycount sponsor
    I think the chest plates look better in the concept. They're a bit too bulky atm, kind of makes it look like (s)he has boobies. Trapezius pieces are a bit too bulky/angular too, but maybe they'll work better with the finished model. The rest is looking awesome so far.

It's pretty hard to see, but if this is going to be baked you'll probably want to soften up your edges.

As a side note, please take some better screenshots! They don't do the model any justice. You can use marmoset 2 to take nice highish poly renders.
  • KazeoHin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the tips! And I don't think I'll be baking this down, this is more for fun.

As for the chest-neck (traps) angularity, it is a deviation from the concept, and I'm pretty sure I wouldn't mind redoing it. The chest in particular is not my best work. I've learned a bit more on high poly smooth previews and the crease tools in Maya and I plan to apply a ton of that knowledge in the future.