Home General Discussion

Bother with calibrating display?

Fuiosg
polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Fuiosg polycounter lvl 5
I know there's some threads on this, but displays have gotten better over the years and I think it's due for another discussion. In a team environment it's probably a no brainer, but as a solo game artist I'm wondering if I need to bother with it.

My budget Dell IPS seems to have pretty accurate colors, but who am I to judge-- I even work with f.lux on sometimes, because it all seems relative.

Replies

• ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    Fuiosg wrote: »
    I know there's some threads on this, but displays have gotten better over the years and I think it's due for another discussion. In a team environment it's probably a no brainer, but as a solo game artist I'm wondering if I need to bother with it.

My budget Dell IPS seems to have pretty accurate colors, but who am I to judge-- I even work with f.lux on sometimes, because it all seems relative.

It still matters. You want a monitor with as close to perfect calibration, because monitors are created around that standard. If your monitor is off when making a project, and someone viewing your art has a poorly calibrated monitor as well, it can create extreme differences.

accurate_display.gif
  • Fuiosg
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fuiosg polycounter lvl 5
    Thanks.

Do you need one with all the bells and whistles? I've seen some that don't measure brightness and contrast, which seems doable on your own with software. Also some that don't measure ambient light-- which I don't understand either, since your ambient light changes throughout the day anyway if you have a window.
  • EarthQuake
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    What Zac said^

re:ambient light, you should calibrate it in the light that you're most often in.