Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Futuristic Knife

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
DesignByKivi polycounter lvl 11
'Ello!

I've been creeping around the forums for quite a few years, but never actually started a thread of my own to actually showcase/get feedback on my works. So here goes.

Decided a few weeks back that I should grab one of my super old models from the depths of my old backup hard drive, and re-do the textures on it. Really loved the original Daisukekazamas concept of it.

Not really sure I like the blade part of it. Feel like it has way too much general grunge and dirt on it; needs more wear and directional metallic scratches, or something. The textures currently are at 4k.
nCS5b1E.png
txppzEX.png
eBfbnGJ.png

Replies

• GrungyStudios
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    GrungyStudios polycounter lvl 8
    looks good, is there a reason that you have 4k textures on such a small model?
  • DesignByKivi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I usually work in 4k, and then just downscale to a more "fitting" size. In this case I'll end up in 2k eventually.

Also, this little fellow insisted I keep him detailed at 4k.
    9uKZQ4B.png
  • snoop
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    snoop polycounter lvl 7
    I mean it might just be the design, but 4k textures seem grossly disproportionate to your tri count. There appear to be some smoothing errors that could easily be fixed by adding in supporting edges or allowing the design to be more... flowing? I'm not sure how to put it, it's just far too blocky for my tastes.
  • ghaztehschmexeh
    Currently your metal material just screams "I just used a ddo material and called it done".

@snoop it's fairly common practise to work in a higher res and then downscale. Unless you are working at super low-res and need control of how it will look at practical res.
  • DesignByKivi
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for the feedback guys! :)