Home General Discussion

Overcome being overwhelmed

CreativeHD
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
CreativeHD polycounter lvl 6
Hey everyone,

As a beginner I am really struggling with becoming overwhelmed when starting a project. I know I'm not the only one that struggles with this problem so if anyone could share any advice on how to overcome this that would be great. I have been a long time lerker but now I want to really get involved by posting my own work and helping others.

Thanks.

Replies

• SuperFranky
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SuperFranky polycounter lvl 10
    Do it one step at a time. Do long preparing work where you break down your project to small steps. Analyze the project at hand based on your abilities. Can you achieve what you want with skills you have or can these skills be learned in progress of this project? Use a scheduling/to-do list to write down exactly what you need to do to achieve the end result you want. And also maybe it'll make you feel better if you think about new project as a great opportunity to learn something that can make you a better artist :) . But for that you gotta love to learn.

Don't forget to cry about it to your friends to receive emotional/mental support.

Good luck :)
  • beefaroni
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    beefaroni sublime tool
    A few suggestions.

Find a simple concept that you want to re-create. Or a simple real life object. I find that a lot of people try to design their own works at the start and they end up with work that is not as good as a result (speaking from experience...).

Seriously, your first project could be a hammer. The hammers head would give some experience with hard surface modeling but not overwhelm you. In addition, it has both a wooden texture and a metal texture to learn PBR with (or plastic and rubber depending on the model). Also, there is TONS of reference for hammers online.