Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First project - Futuristic Knife (BF2142)

Hey Polycount!

This is my very first 3d model. I was lurking around in the forum for some weeks now and finally started my own project.

For the beginning I chose something small with "easy" hard edges:
The BJ-2 Combat Knife from Battlefield 2142 (NOT MINE):
w_bj2cknife_17.png

Here's my little summary of the different angles of the knife (ALSO NOT MINE):
IiWgcaC.png

I'm planning to complete the model in the next 3 weeks. (I'm a noob so even easy things are going to take a while. ;) )

FOLLOWING: MINE

Today I starded with my first blockout (Cinema 4D):

O8JHZiX.png
tXse7FD.jpg

Second:

N3cJHdW.jpg

Critics appreciated but I can't guarantee that I'm able to implement those changes. :)
(And it's a little bit early for big critics, right?)

Replies

• SergeiMirminski
    Decent for a first model. You should post wireframes, tri-count and map sizes though. You provided PLENTY of shaded angles to look at, but they don't appear lit. Use marmoset engine for this.

Depending on where this model would be implemented, the polycount suggests it would be used for a mobile game. I'd say nowadays the polycount for a knife could be 500-1k tris, and a 1024 Diffuse, Spec and Normal map. To clarify, the polycount is too low, while the map size is too high.

Silhouettes are also important. I can clearly see the sharp polygons on those holes as well as the sharp edges on the outside where its supposed to be round. You should add more edge loops to that. Especially if this is a weapon held in the hand of a first person player, It would take up a good portion of the screen and would be studied up close.