Home Technical Talk

Game ready character - How to do this and that

grand marshal polycounter
Offline / Send Message
Obscura grand marshal polycounter
Hi, currently I have to make various game ready realistic human characters, and because I'm not really experienced in character creation I can't figure out how to do a few things. Here are a few of my first questions, maybe more will come later, as things progresses.

I have to do the usual hp-> detailed mesh from Zbrush-> lp-> baking pipeline. I made the highpoly, and I would like to start sculpting it, but I don't know how could I detail the lips properly because the mouth is closed on my hp. There will be inside of the mouth too. Should I open it a little before start sculpting? And here comes the next, similar question. If it would be closed, then later how could I bake that area with not getting the cage going through itself?

Later I will have to do a few morph targets too, and here, my question is again about the mouth. How should I make the mouth morphs? Should I rig that area somehow , so it will be easy to make every morph target? Or should I use simple vertex moving or something like FFD/soft selection moving?

The eyebrows will be separated mesh/textures on the final characters, so we can change the texture (because we want the player to be able to select the eyebrow shape) There will be a few morph targets that will need modified eyebrow position for specific face expressions. So the eyebrow itself is a separated mesh, and when I make these morptargets, should I modify the head too there, or just the separated eyebrow mesh? I think the answer is just the eyebrow mesh, because in the real life just the eyebrow would move and not a that area of the skull.

Replies

• MarzArt
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    MarzArt polycounter lvl 5
    Answer to first question: It's easier to sculpt, and bake, when mouth is open. If it's closed, you can try to bake the inside area with Xnormal as separated mesh.