Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Advanced tips for beginner 3d artist

emerald-shine
polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
emerald-shine polycounter lvl 4
Hi everyone, first off thanks for having me on here.

Now I started studying for a foundation in game art last sept and plan to go for a degree in game design, already have my place, i just need to pass the foundation. My Tutor has been in the games industry for 20 years and is currently working a travellers tales, you know .. the guys who make the LEGO games.:). Ive learned alot from him and could quite easily pass this course at my current skill level.

Thats not good enough for me, I dont want to just "pass " it. I want to excel at it. I wont be happy with anything less than a "merit" (it goes fail, pass, merit, distinction). Thats what lead me here, I figured it would be a good idea to talk to as many people as possible in this field.

whitewolfv1_zps41463685.png

This is my first model, well my first organic model. Sorry for the bluriness, not sure what happened. This is my own character, the White Wolf, a super hero I made up as kid and has changed quite alot between now then. He stands at just under 2000 pollys. Now my tutor gave us the limit of 7000, Is this too low? He says game art is all about keeping pollycount as low as possible while still makeing it look as good as it can.

He mentioned something about Xnormal and NVIDIA photoshop plugin to make the texture look better but I cant remember what. I hope it doesnt involve any more UV mapping because dam, that was so tedious and I hated every minute of it.

Of course I have loads of other questions I'd like to ask but Ive rambled on enough I think.

Thanks for reading and please post any thought you may have, good or bad.

Replies

• billymcguffin
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    billymcguffin polycounter lvl 11