Home Technical Talk

Help making a MEL script

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Brygelsmack polycounter lvl 11
I basically have zero scripting knowledge, but I want to make a simple MEL script that makes CryEngine exporting faster for me. Can anyone help me out with how I can achieve this? This should save a bunch of time since I export from Maya very often.

In the following order I want to:

1. Select one or multiple objects (obviously I do that myself)
2. Create a group called cryexportnode_[name of object]
3. Create a sub-group called group_[name of object]
4. Select the top of the hierarchy (cryexportnode group)

It would be cool if I click my shelf button I get a window in which I can specify the name of my object I'm exporting (essentially text that replaces "name of object" above.

This is the hierarchy I want to create:

Cebb1pW.jpg

Thanks for any help!

Replies

• Saf
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Saf polycounter lvl 11
    I'm just starting to learn Python. The code is ugly, but seems to work.
    You can select one or more object, "_and_" between them will be added to the new group name.

import maya.cmds as cmds
    def CryExportPy():
    	Sel1 = str(cmds.ls (selection=True, objectsOnly=True))
    	Sel2 = Sel1.replace("u","").replace("]","").replace("[","").replace("'","").replace(" ","").replace(",","_and_")
    	Sel_List = Sel1.replace("u'","").replace("'","").replace("[","").replace("]","").replace(" ","").split(',')
    	cmds.group( empty=True, name=('group_'+Sel2) )
    	for i in range(len(Sel_List)):
    		listNum = Sel_List.pop()
    		cmds.parent( listNum, ('group_'+Sel2), a=True )
    	cmds.group( ('group_'+Sel2), name=('cryexportnode_'+Sel2))
    	cmds.select ('cryexportnode_'+Sel2)
    CryExportPy()

• e-freak
    Options
    Offline / Send Message