Home General Discussion

The Waiting Game

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Higuy polycounter lvl 9
Hello fellow Polycounters,

I'm sure this has been asked before, but I wanted to see what you guys thought...

About a week ago, I applied to a few jobs pertaining to my certain field (level design) and also one as a QA Tester (to see if I can get my foot in the door that way also, I know its not fun really). While I haven't heard anything, and I've heard it can take a while even if you do end up hearing back, should I eventually contact the company's I applied to see where I stand? I don't want to be a pest - perhaps they haven't gotten to my resume, maybe they have and just tossed it, but who knows. It's frustrating, but I'm sure you've all heard that before. Also some company's I applied to used online applications - no "real" email (unless they contact you), so its even harder to see where you might be.

What do you guys do about this? I'm new to it all and would just like some advice. Thanks.

Replies

• Tobbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    There's some good info here.

[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h1U9DWkdPFE"]CrunchBites 12 Putting Yourself Out There - YouTube[/ame]
  • Higuy
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Higuy polycounter lvl 9
    I'll give that a watch - thanks!
  • Tobbo
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Tobbo polycounter lvl 11
    Sorry I can't really speak from experience yet. Wish I could help more. :(

Best of luck in your job search!
  • RyanB
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Higuy wrote: »
    While I haven't heard anything, and I've heard it can take a while even if you do end up hearing back, should I eventually contact the company's I applied to see where I stand?

Don't contact them. If you haven't heard from them, the answer is no. It's a common policy not to contact rejected candidates.