Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Lucas Govatos - Portfolio Critique Request

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Higuy polycounter lvl 9
Hi guys, my name is Lucas "Higuy" Govatos. I am a level designer and just finished putting together my first real portfolio website with what I find to be presentable work:

http://www.lucasgovatos.net/

First of all, I'm not sure if this is the best section to post this in but any critique on how it could be improved would be greatly appreciated, including the web design as a whole since I'm new to CSS/HTML.

Anyway, I'm looking to get a first job/internship/something somewhere related to level design. As you may have noticed, all of my work is personal/independent studies (including working on mod teams), so I'm wondering if this is acceptable to go out there and start trying to find that first job in the industry or if I should add more/continue adding things (I'm still working on other stuff, but they are not finished/presentable yet).

Lastly if you take a look at my resume/cv I listed some work experience that isn't related to game design. I ended up including it because it is work experience (I work with boats), but I am wondering if it should even be kept since it is not related to level design.

Replies

• Equanim
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Equanim polycounter lvl 11
    Easily one of the most straightforward, no bs portfolio sites I've ever seen. A+ for functionality. I wouldn't get too concerned with aesthetics since you're not applying for web design jobs. What matters is that your site is easy to read and navigate, which you nailed.

The flythroughs at the beginning of each piece page are a great idea, especially for a level designer. My one crit here is that the videos focus too much on gameplay and not enough on layout. I would make each video about 70% "tour" of the level, with a little explosive gameplay thrown in at the end.