Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Need help! Sculpting a teenage female model

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
mnphear polycounter lvl 9
Hi guys! I would really appreciate if someone could point me to some good references, workflow tutorials and such for modeling a teenage female model like Ellie from Last of us.

I'm not that experienced in sculpting a human body but im willing to learn for this one.

My software of choice is blender and Zbrush.

The character is set in the ww2 time. She is a concentration camp survivor.
My current references are:
yDHQrts.jpg
and
DotpQ5A.jpg

For the clothes.

Any help would be much appreciated, and i will post the progression of the character.

Replies

• Melonman
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey dude, for a start I deffo wouldn't use a game character as "reference" maybe "inspiration" but definitely not "reference".

I think you should start in blender if you know the package well get a solid base and then move to Zbrush.

Once your more experienced and have more understanding of anatomy then you could move the whole character creation process to Zbrush as it would be much faster and more natural. If you go Zbrush straight away without that knowledge because Zbrush has sooooo many awesome features and naturally is a more fun workflow your attention may sway away from the basics and foundations which is key when creating a realistic character.

So start in blender to really start to understand the human form.

Get some solid character reference photos and go from the do not use a game character as reference and go from there mate.

Looking forward to seeing where you take your proj man.
  • mnphear
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Maybe i wrote that wrong, i'm not using these two images for an actual reference as in working from them but rather as a mood board, like small chested, flat girl, and the other for the old like clothes but will maybe switch them a bit when the time for that comes.