Home General Discussion

Internships

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
Higuy polycounter lvl 9
I'm sure this kind of stuff is asked here all the time... but I figured I'd post here since most people have a lot of experience with these types of things.

I'll keep it simple though:

I want to get my foot in the door at a large games company (Bethesda in Rockville). They have a job opening for an Intern in Quality Assurance.

I'm a level designer and artist, worked on mods (all released) and some indie stuff (not yet released). I've seen a lot of people say that taking this kind of route is the best for getting your foot in the door at large companys and to start moving up. However, I'm assuming it is pretty hard and competitve to get this job (any job in the games industry, but this one in particular since its testing games). For example, applying is simply an all online process, so, what can you do to make yourself stand out from the rest of the crowd and thousands of emails they are most likely going to get (besides from the usual, have a strong portfolio and resume)?

Sorry if I'm missing anything here. I'm still working on my portfolio / resume which I will link when they are in a more presentable state - but I really wanted to ask this question to know what others thought on the matter so I could prepare a bit better :)

Thank you,
Lucas

Replies

• Torch
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Torch interpolator
    The fact that you're working on some mod stuff (I'm assuming since its Bethesda this is Oblivion/Skyrim mod work) will help a lot I think, it shows you have an active interest in this line of work and have taken initiative to study and find out more about it.