Home Digital Sketchbooks

Sketchbook: Valentin Nadolu

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
ValN84 polycounter lvl 5
Hi everyone,

My name is Valentin Nadolu, I'm a 3d artist specialized in vehicles for more than 10 years and the Lead Vehicle Artist @ AMC pixel factory for the last 7 years. I've did a hell of a lot of vehicles for games like Mercenaries 2, Saboteur (EA), Test Drive Unlimited and Unlimited 2, Call of Duty: Ghosts to name a few. I work in Maya, Max, Photoshop, Substance Designer and whatever in necessary. I also like to automate things with scripts and like to dig deep into pipelines and technical aspects of 3d graphics.
I like cars, computers and graphics, preferably all mixed together to create something cool.

Feel free to comment and add critique, I'm always looking to improve my trade so any input is welcome!

Replies

• ValN84
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ValN84 polycounter lvl 5
    This is my first test with Marmoset Toolbag 2. I used this Chevy Chevelle model I did I think 4 years ago. It's pretty low poly (7771 tris) but had a high res model and 2048 textures. I did a quick job of making Glossiness and Metalness maps for MT2 as way to get accustomed to PBR:

iSFTgRd.png

6FYShwa.png

fSTYDwt.png

phEb1im.png
  • ValN84
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ValN84 polycounter lvl 5
    Next up is a Camaro I textured in dDo. I love the results although it felt pretty limited by the presets which will get very played out as people will start using them and by the general slowness caused by the reliance of PS scripts. Lack of speed and customizing possibilities ultimately drove me to buy Substance Designer 4 instead.
    This is similar to the Chevelle in specs:

iQzX5Wc.png

erqNs6z.png

shnoVJi.png

psRftpM.png

AA1sTJF.png

HyLixe5.png
  • ValN84
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ValN84 polycounter lvl 5
    Moving on to Substance Designer, this is my first attempt, using the Chevelle I posted above.