Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Character Design Practice

sulzbunny
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
sulzbunny polycounter lvl 6
AlienFinal_NET.jpg

Hi everybody. This is my first official post here on Polycount since I haven't been active in years. My name is Chris Sulzbach and I'm a Lead Character Artist at Firaxis Games and my last two projects were XCOM: Enemy Unknown and XCOM: Enemy Within. I've been a Polycount reader for years but rarely posted and if I did it was under my old username of sulz.

This year I wanted to start putting myself and my work out there more as kind of a new year's resolution type thing, so here we go!

This is my first character design that I'm posting in what will hopefully become a series of portraits of these alien races. I am going to strive to do 1 every two months or so in my free time. I hope I can stick with it!

I hope you like this little guy. He started as a weekend long bust that I extended out to be this creature. I streamed most of the creation on my twitch channel but I also recorded it all to save out as a timelapse to post too. I hope you all enjoy this piece and I'd love to hear your feedback.

Thanks to Dave Black, Aaron Yamada Hanff, Andrew Kincaid, and Matt Demaray for their feedback during the process! Also thanks to those who watched on the stream and offered feedback too!

Replies

• Judgernaut
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Most excellent!

Quality = Top Score!
  • John Ehresmann
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    John Ehresmann polycounter lvl 4
    Talk about making a good first impression, loving it.
  • Dimfist
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Dimfist polycounter lvl 8
    Looks really great. The thing that strikes me most is the eyes. Are they two pieces of geo? I am imagining you made a half sphere for the iris and a full sphere with transparency for the rest.
  • [HP]
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    [HP] polycounter lvl 13
    Very cool stuff!