Home Unreal Engine

Different materials on object instances

interpolator
Offline / Send Message
Axi5 interpolator
Hey guys quick question!

I'm relatively new to UDK and I'm attempting a modular scene in it for a university project. I've imported one of my meshes, it's just a simple 12 tri chamfer box with some polys trimmed off.

The idea is, I want to be able to re-use this mesh but with alternating materials in order to break up the repetition my scene a little bit. I've got some tiling textures and I was wondering if there was a more efficient way of applying different materials to the same instanced mesh through some voodoo.

Or, would it just be a case of duplicating my mesh in the content browser and applying the different materials there. I'll go this method if I have to, after a quick search I didn't turn up anything about what I was trying to do (presumably bad search terms but heyo). But it just seems a little inefficient. Or is it not?

Thanks for any help (:

Replies

• Sinking
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    If you are looking for an efficient engine, switch to Unity ^^

Honestly though, UDK is great once you get into it a bit more. It's just not the most user-friendly engine by now (still better than Source ^^) Without images it is hard to understand how deep you want the change to go. If you, for example just want to have different tiles show up in different colors on a sort of mosaic wall, you could have one plain wall with tiles and use Alpha masks in combination with a Parameter Change node in UDK. This would make it easy to use one base texture and make several different looking materials from it. They would all be instances though and you'd have to apply every single one to the different meshes.