Home General Discussion

Degree's and Internships

polycounter lvl 5
Offline / Send Message
Orangeknight polycounter lvl 5
I know threads like this pop up alot but I couldn't really find an applicable one to my question. So I'm most likely gonna go to a 4 year college and apply for something like chemistry for my major and maybe graphic design for my minor. I want to apply to chemistry because I want to have something as backup in case I cant get into the 3d field. Now I was wondering if I was to apply to a internship would they care what field I was majoring in or would they still look at mainly your portfolio. Thanks for your time.

Replies

• NegevPro
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    NegevPro polycounter lvl 4
    I could be wrong as I've no professional experience, but from my understanding, your portfolio will be the most important thing right next to professional experience.

Personally I wouldn't really major in Chemistry though. Not only is it completely unrelated to 3D and game development in general (if that's what you're going for), but it is a ton of work and so you'll likely be limited in the free time you can allocate to 3D.

If you enjoy Chemistry then go ahead and do it, but if you just randomly picked it then you might want to try for something else. I'm not sure what university you plan to attend, but the Chemistry department in my university is an absolute joke.