Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Shield project - stuck -

Nesmos
polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Nesmos polycounter lvl 6
Hello,

I'm new to polycount and to 3ds max at that only basic knowledge maybe not even that. I hope someone could help me with the problem I'm stuck with but I've modelled a shield and UV mapped it but texturing it is quite difficult and I don't think I've mapped it out well at all. could anyone tell what I did wrong and help me through it ?

Thanks a lot, will post pictures of UV's and shield below

3D Model: http://p3d.in/pLg8Q

UV'S
c28817a518.png

Concept
81b6a8f536.jpg

Replies

• Nesmos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nesmos polycounter lvl 6
    Update:

I've changed the UV's a bit and started on the actual texturing but something seems off. Does the wood texture look alright or even like wood ? any help would be appreciated.

Note: I want to say I'm not demanding for help or anything this is a project I'm doing not just asking for help like form a blank page. I hope I don't offend anyone.

Texture:
    fb8221d5cd.jpg

Render:
    8b943f1819.jpg
  • Bek
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Bek interpolator
    You could learn a lot by watching some UV'ing tutorials.

I also gave some advice on basic UV stuff in this thread that you may find helpful.
  • StevenZer
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    StevenZer polycounter lvl 4
    I think you should try baking an ambient occulsion using xnormal or something else and multiply or overlay it ontop of the texture using photoshop or gimp~
    What are you using to render this shield?
    and btw the texture looks really flat try painting some soft shadows over the edges of the wood.
  • Nesmos
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Nesmos polycounter lvl 6