Home General Discussion

Quantifying Beauty In Representative Art

polycounter lvl 14
Offline / Send Message
d1ver polycounter lvl 14
Hey there folks. I don't get to post around on polycount as much as I would like lately so when I do I try to make it count. The thing I want to share with you today is probably the most important piece of advice I ever had to share to this point, with both students and professionals.

It's a talk I've been doing for a few years now for universities and schools all around and it tries to answer such questions like whether there is objective Beauty, why you can be the master of modeling and texturing and still be a crappy artist, how do you make every single of your art projects count, how do you compare art, pick up what's of value in it without taking on the flaws.

I was faced with a problem years back as an artist, where I didn't understand what specifically could make me better. Copying the hot thing and trying to put my own twist on it didn't seem substantial enough. It was hard to feel responsible for the success of my own work.

All of this and every other artistic insecurity forced to me to look for an answer, that eventually manifested in this talk.

Quantifying Beauty in Representative Art (Good Quality) - YouTube

The talk itself is around 40 minutes and the rest is just the test I do with the students. I know that 40 minutes of time is a big commitment in this day and age. so here's the preview video to help you paint a clearer picture of what to expect:
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yPTOvOV3ANo"]Preivew - Quantifying Beauty in Representative Art - YouTube[/ame]
if it got at you at least mildly interested make sure to check out the full talk. :)

If anything I hope that the system described here can at least help us establish a language for discussing visual problems in a constructive way.

Slides on my website:
http://artisaverb.info/QuantifyingBeauty.html
And the archive with all the images: