Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Realistic Head (self portrait)

polycounter lvl 8
Offline / Send Message
kmactastic polycounter lvl 8
I have been working off and on for maybe two months, and am dragging my feet. I kind of hit a road block with the ears and hair. I started by using a scan of my head so that I would get the proportions right. Unfortunately I am having trouble lining up photos of my ears with the sculpt... I am thinking of just skipping using photos and just using the bakes to make the texture for them. I have been using projection painting in mudbox, which is a little awkward but kind of fun. I am also not sure what to do with the hair. I have seen some people sculpt it which looks good, and other use planes. Any advice, feedback critiques are very welcome! thank you ^^

head_scan_wip.jpg

head_progress_2.jpg

Replies

• kmactastic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    So I went ahead and just sculpted the ears instead of trying to use a photo. I also ended up painting my hair in. Which I am not totally happy with, but I finally got over dragging my feet. ^^ Any comments are welcome!! thank you (:

head_progress_3.jpg
  • kmactastic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Here is another update ^^ I am almost there! Just have to finish my texture maps, and figure out how to set up a skin shader. I don't know much about SSS, but hopefully I can make something convincing.

Critique is very welcome!!

head_update.jpg
  • KartoonHead
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    KartoonHead polycounter lvl 4
    A combination of sculpted hair and planes is your best bet (and the most commonly done thing).