Home General Discussion

Choice of platform.

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Visum polycounter lvl 7
So I'm slowly finishing the storyline for my first game and this question is coming back and forth like a boomerang. I decided to use unity because I can't program at all and the playmaker plugin for visual scripting pretty much gave me most of what I need within 2weeks of starting to learn the whole thing.

I've read all I could find on the net about it and besides the obvious polycount and shader stuff I can't find any reasonable answer why people choose one platform over the other.

My game is a little adventure based on a old point and click stuff but in first person.

PC/Mac vs ipad. Those are the platforms it went down to.

How would you guys go on deciding which to go with? I'm a single developer and budget is pretty tight so apart from few general scripts that I will need to hire a programmer for I'm doing the whole thing by myself. I'm leaning towards ipad because in my head I kinda see it as less time consuming to achieve a acceptable visual standard while PC/Mac games for most part have a very polished look and feel. But like I said it's my idea of it because I have zero experience in this field. The whole process is pretty much a unexplored territory :)

Any thoughts?
Appreciate in advance.

Replies

• Fomori
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fomori polycounter lvl 12
    I wonder how Playmaker compares to Kismet in UDK. That might also be worth a look.
    Anyone with more experience of both want to chime in?
  • Ben Apuna
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    There are a lot of things to consider when choosing what platform to make a game for.

UI - how will the player interact with your game, kb/mouse, touch, controller, something else...

Game design - Is your game meant for longer play sessions or shorter ones. The smaller the screen + more portable the device = typically shorter play sessions.