Home General Discussion

Calling all game artists..

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
bcottage polycounter lvl 13
I am a student currently in my last year at University of Hertfordshire studying game art. For one of my assignments i need a few of you to fill this in for me :).

If you are currently working in the game industry please keep in touch as my University are always looking for professionals to come down to Hertfordshire and give talks to our students.

Anyway here they are (you can email me the questions if you prefer @ ben_cottage@hotmail.co.uk)

1. What Company do you work at?
2. What is your job title?
3. How long have you been working at your current job?
4. What is the best part of your job?
5. What is the worst?
6. Where do you see yourself in 5 years?
7. What would say your ultimate goal is?
8. When was the moment when you thought “yep, I can do this as a career”
9. What is the most important personality trait to be a top game artist?
10. If you went back in time to your past self what advice would you give yourself to further your career?

Replies

• Ninjas
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Ninjas polycounter lvl 18
    1: Wolfire Games
    2. Artist
    3. 5 years
    4. Doing what I feel like
    5. Not being able to execute my ideas fast enough
    6. At my apartment, in a chair, in front of my computer
    7. Helping other people be more awesome
    8. 9 years ago, when I got my first stable contract gig
    9. A desire to actually do the work
    10. "Don't buy that shitty Boxx computer -- it's too damn loud, and its Quadro card is crap"
  • Rick Stirling
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Rick Stirling polycounter lvl 18
    To help you prepare for the future, you do know that some of the staff from your course are on here? Calling an assignment shitty on a public forum where the people that may have set that assignment could see you do that isn't terribly clever.
  • ExcessiveZero
    Options