Home Technical Talk

3dsmax uv editor help please!

monkeymintaka
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
monkeymintaka polycounter lvl 7
Hey guys,

I have this problem that I can't find a solution too so hoped someone with more experience would know.
I am following a tutorial in 3ds max and am at the texturing stage. I have put a uvw unwrap mod on the object, and placed the 2048 as a material and in the texture ed. but when I applied any form of mapping the texture went blurry.

I spent ages on different graphic card options etc and finally figured out that the texture is fine but the 1:1 uv square where the texture shows up is too small.

I changed one of the options in the uv ed from 256 to 2048 thinking it would make the square larger but it just made the texture 2048, so nowhere uv square area is showing a 256 area of my entire texture.

Any help would be awesome as I am a total noob in 3dsmax and don't know enough of the jargon to even know what to search for :)

Thanks

Replies

• ZombieWells
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZombieWells polycounter lvl 12
    so what is happening here is that the max folks started limiting their texture size to something like 512 res for new nitrous viewport. You can do one of two things here... switch back to direct 3d in your preferences, (your going to have to check, fit bitmap to closest size... something like that) or use this script to up the res sizes http://www.scriptspot.com/3ds-max/scripts/nitrous-texture-tweaker, - this should be it, someone correct me if I am wrong here. (your going to have to save your max file right after you hit the apply button, then reopen your file to get the right res to show up) hope this helps, also more information is out there if you do a simple search.
  • monkeymintaka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message