Home Technical Talk

Maya nParticles: Is it possible to make to objects collide and leak?

Kyle_butler
polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Kyle_butler polycounter lvl 11
Hi, guys!
I'm trying to produce a simple effect, but I don't really know how.

I have to objects. 1 sphere and 1 sword. I wanted the sword to stab the sphere and make it leak (water or blood liquid), from the points where the sword makes contact with its surface.
Also, I wanted some of this liquid to be carried over with the sword, becoming attached to it.
Is it possible?

sword1_zpsc53b0661.jpg

sowrd2_zpsd1be8048.jpg

Replies

• AlexCatMasterSupreme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    AlexCatMasterSupreme interpolator
    If you make the cube more dense and a tearible ncloth as well as a passive collider you could probably do this.
  • Kyle_butler
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for your answer, Alex. Could you be more specific? I'm new to maya dynamics.
  • AlexCatMasterSupreme
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks for your answer, Alex. Could you be more specific? I'm new to maya dynamics.

I am not super good but basically if you can use a transform constraint on all the points on an ncloth you don't want to move, you can specify what verts can tear, when these tear you can drain the ball. Why not just use two particle emitters?
  • Kyle_butler
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hugh, Alex, thanks for pointing the direction. 2 emitters at both ends.
    But what about the sword collision? How can I make the blood attach to its surface? (This example is a simplification of a more complex scene, where I'll have to stab a rigged character and make it bleed and stain the sword with blood).