[Low Poly] Cartoon character project

polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
Amaury polycounter lvl 7

Replies

• thepapercut
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    I'm no master of topology or anatomy but just looking at it, you have a lot of flat straight edges which never gives the best look. My best advice I can give is to look at what others have done that worked, and use what you see to aid you.
    Quick Google search will bring up tons of low poly modeling sheets like these:
    irongrip.jpg
  • Amaury
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Amaury polycounter lvl 7
    What do you mean by flat straight edges ? Should I remove the loops on the jacket ? Sorry I'm a complete beginner lol. :x
  • katana
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    katana polycounter lvl 14
    We all started this way...welcome to the wonderful world of 3D. There's a lot to learn and it will take a long time even if you are fully dedicated...don't worry about that. The one thing I will suggest is to learn topology flow early on...it will save you headaches later on.

The Polycount wiki offers a look at that.

Topology
  • Erafic
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Erafic polycounter lvl 10
    Amaury wrote: »
    What do you mean by flat straight edges ? Should I remove the loops on the jacket ? Sorry I'm a complete beginner lol. :x

I think what he's meaning is that if you look all along the edge of the models arms for example, you see a long straight line. Would for example all the elbow loops be removed you wouldnt notice the difference if the wireframe wasnt visible.