Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

UDK Forest

polycounter lvl 13
Offline / Send Message
bcottage polycounter lvl 13
Morning Polycount! I thought i would show you my new project i am currently working on. i think i am giving myself in till the end of the mouth to finish this one. Its my first scene in UDK so be gentle :).

I have been practicing hard surface for a while then it hit me...I have never done foliage before...so this is where i am so far. I will be making this a complete scene with a house and some other bits and bobs. I'm going to be playing with the lut today then start cranking out assets on a dayily basis.

Let me know what you think so far :)

rZry6WC.jpg

Replies

• Fozwroth
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Fozwroth polycounter lvl 9
    Hi! Looking pretty good there :) I noticed some things about the trees. Usually Birch trees have a darker rougher bark towards the ground as seen in the image below. they also look a little dirty reduce some of that grain noise you have in the texture. Leaf texture may be a little thick, try to separate the individual leaves a little more to bring some more air into the branches. right now it looks more like solid chunks of leaves.

keep going :)

summerbirchtreesandroad.jpg
  • Xendance
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Xendance polycounter lvl 7
    I'd add more contrast to the lighting. Light blue ambient light could probably help out at bringing out the details on the tree bark.
  • bcottage
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    @Xendance: Thankyou for your comment, is this better?

@Fozwroth: Brillant crit Fozwroth, much appreciated. Yep, turned on a few lights after reading your comment, will defiantly go back and change the bark for the next update. I changed the leafs slightly now, i actually intended for them to be quite think so i could control the shadows on the ground.

Little update: (screenshot, nothing high res just yet)

1. Added a water well with bucket