Home Technical Talk

Modular wall distance/thickness advice needed

monkeymintaka
polycounter lvl 7
Offline / Send Message
monkeymintaka polycounter lvl 7
Hi guys, I'm pretty new to polycount, but I have been reading the forums for a while now. I am creating an environment for my masters project and want to make use of modular sets. I pretty much understand the concept behind building them effectively but one question I cant seem to find an answer to is proper indoor-outdoor (or even rooms next to each other) flow.

I have trawled the forums and tutorials, so hope that this post will help advise me on the right steps.

Here is a rough floor plan of the school, my main concern is how to keep the walls on grid at the right increments of numbers if that makes sense?

Below is some ideas I was looking at to get my head around a solution.11235

Thanks for any help you can give!

Replies

• Adam L. Gray
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    http://www.gamasutra.com/blogs/JoelBurgess/20130501/191514/

There ya go! :3

As for the images, you use the image-tags
    [IMG]imagelinkhere[/IMG]

Though it seems you'll have to upload the images to imageshack, tinypic or something like it for it to work though... pasting the imagelinks you had into the tags gave me the same strange result
  • monkeymintaka
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks, that fixed the links.
    I have read that article, it was semi-helpful (and a tiny bit confusing) with the hallway example...but it still doesnt show hallways that are opposed to each other, like one facing one way into a room, and the other the opposite way. I mean, walls normally go over the grid square of the floor, or are they on each side. I guess thats the thing that is bugging me. And also if I should have walls thick or just a plane, because I know light map /seam issues are abound in unity.
    Sorry for the ramble :)
  • Adam L. Gray
    Options
    Offline / Send Message