Home Technical Talk

3DSMax Biped - Removing single key

polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
ParoXum polycounter lvl 9
Hi tech talk,

I have been animating in 3DSMax lately with Bipoed, and there's something that really frustrates me right now:

I have a bunch of keys set on my spine1 and spine2 bones. When I want to remove a key from spine2 that sit at the same time as a key on spine1 it removes keys for all the bone chain.

It does that with arm and leg chains too. That seem to happen to me with biped only, this sharing of keys..

I'm a noob at animating in Max, so I believe I must be missing the right button on/off somewhere. This cant be the way everybody works, is it?

Anyways, any help is greatly appreciated! I did a forum search and google search but was not succesful on this matter.

Replies

• Mark Dygert
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    In the biped control panel, expand "Keyframing Tools" and check on "separate FK Tracks" for whatever systems you want to have separate keys.
  • ParoXum
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Thanks Mark, will give this a try for sure. ;)
  • Mrfred
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mrfred polycounter lvl 4
    I wouldnt suggest doing that as the biped is best used without messing with the separate fk tracks. The issue you'll have if you activate this feature is that you' ll be unable to quickly retime/ change/ scale timing correctly.
    Its one of e broken features of the biped . turning on separate fk tracks is as safe as turning the euler mode on. Which is like running with sharp scissors half naked on crystal meth under a giant storm.

Its just how the biped was made the best pro tip i can give you is; forget about it, you'll get used to it ;)
  • Mrfred
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Mrfred polycounter lvl 4
    Second pro tip: the biped is a bitch but youve got to make it your your bitch. While not altering his core functions. But feel free to add custom stuff on it ;)