Home General Discussion

Help! Character Modelling

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
Joshmjc polycounter lvl 4
Hey guys I'm in need of some help, at the moment I'm in my first year of games design at college in the UK, coming close to the end and going onto the second year. Knowing that i have some days where i don't have that much work to do i want to get practicing to stay ahead of the curve, the main reason for this is that by the time it comes to applying for university i will have decent work that I'm proud and not weak work that i would feel as if i just scraped the boundaries.
I'm familiar with the basics of 3DS max and during my first year i have animated and made various models within it. However going into the second year, my main focus is to become a character modeller, so I've done research on character modelling for quite some time now but i get the feeling I'm looking in all the wrong places, so i decided to move on to other aspects of modelling interior, exterior architectural designs, rigging, animation however it just isn't me.
I am hoping you guys could point me in the right direction, any help is appreciated i just feel like I'm running into a brick wall, constantly.

Thanks

Replies

• Sukotto
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Sukotto polycounter lvl 8
    I'm not sure what you're asking here? You want to learn more about modeling characters?

The PC wiki is a good place to start. Start with the basics. Learn your anatomy. Figure drawing and anatomy books will be your friends. This is the most important part. You could be an expert in Max or Maya but no one will care if your characters look like crap.

The you can learn the character creation pipeline and all the applications and techniques that go with it.
  • gray
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    i will give you some honest advice here since you seem to want it.