Home General Discussion

What contributes to the "style" of games?

ziikutv
polycounter lvl 9
Offline / Send Message
ziikutv polycounter lvl 9
Hello,

First I would like to say that I have no experience in basically anything Polycount community does, so that might be why I am asking this.

I love the different art styles games have and was wondering what factors play into that (texture, lighting, shaders?). I want to learn the ins and outs of game developing (purely as a hobby) and want to make a side scroller in UDK.

So again, how do I make an appealing style (what contributes to it)?
  1. Style 1
  2. Style 2
  3. Style 3
above are some good examples. There are too many different styles to ask about, but perhaps you can break down above three?

Replies

• ziikutv
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ziikutv polycounter lvl 9
  • Cybroxide
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Cybroxide polycounter lvl 17
    I think the most important thing to consider is how the visual style of a game improves the overall player experience. Does it fit the tone of the narrative, does it facilitate player interaction or does it increase the player desire to see more of that world? I think what makes a good visual style is how well it ties into the core concepts of the game you are creating.

Things like texture, lighting and shaders are the tech that facilitate achieving a desired visual target. They are incredibly important to understand and learn but should be viewed as tools to help you meet your visual goals.

On a side note: being consistent in your chosen visual aesthetic is incredibly important to sell a style. Setting up "rules" for your style will go a long, long way during the asset creation process.
  • Muzzoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Muzzoid polycounter lvl 10
    how make art. How babby formed.
  • moof
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    moof polycounter lvl 7
    Art style is communication.