Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

First Demo reel, need feedback :)

polycounter lvl 11
Offline / Send Message
Leinad polycounter lvl 11
Hey guys and gals, I just created my demo reel and was hoping to get some feedback! I’ll be going to GDC for the first time, so I am trying to get this demo as good as I can make it within the next week. Any help/comment/suggestion would be greatly appreciated!

Here is my Demo:
[ame="http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lz1ByVfZgyc"]Daniel Akbari Demo Reel - YouTube[/ame]

Replies

• MikeGalli
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Hey Dan, I'm not a character artist so I can't comment much on the quality of the work, but I have some feedback for the presentation itself. I would suggest getting rid of the transition camera work where the camera pan's quickly to the next camera. It seems a bit jarring compared to the slow spinning of the model. It might be a bit more fitting to have a soft fade to the next camera instead.
    There also seems to be a lot of negative space in your reel. It might be best to avoid too many of the full body shots as it is a bit hard to see much other than silhouette and colors. It might be kind of cool to have a medium close-up (about 1/3 of the body) camera that starts at the top of the character and slowly lowers as the character spins, so you can get a good grasp of the amount of detail.