Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

[Portfolio] - Martin Donald

polycounter lvl 4
Offline / Send Message
KartoonHead polycounter lvl 4
http://martdon.carbonmade.com/ <- the link

Hi everyone,

I've been hanging around here for about 18 months now, ever since I first decided to try my hand at 3D modeling. I think I've gotten to a level now where I'm comfortable to collate my work into a portfolio and see what everyone thinks. So here it is!

I've learned a lot about game art in the past couple of months, which made 99% of my previous work irrelevant to my portfolio, and I suspect that's about to happen again soon with the new stuff I'm working on, but for now this is the best and most finished stuff I have.

Any crits on my work, what it lacks, what it needs, or areas where I need to improve, are greatly appreciated.

As a side-note - the images are a tad smaller than I'd like, but I genuinely don't have the $12 a month to upgrade my carbonmade account to allow for larger images and videos :/

Thanks in advance,

Martin.

Replies

• Blaisoid
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Blaisoid polycounter lvl 7
    i like the metro station enviro a lot.

temple enviro on the other hand has really poor lighting, it's very flat and not convincing as natural moonlight. in it's current form i think this piece hurts your portfolio rather than adding anything valuable to it.

Rest of stuff looks good, i wouldn't have guessed that you started 1,5 year ago.

btw, if you want portfolio with high res pics for free try weebly.com
  • ysalex
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ysalex interpolator
    Hi Martin, nice works.

Just a couple points:

I like your tiling textures section, but I really don't like the wavy block you show them off on. It's fine for the organic stuff, but it makes the straight edge stuff look distorted, and that's distracting.