Home 3D Art Showcase & Critiques

Pirate House Scene (Artyom Vlaskin concept)

Hi Everyone!

This is my first time posting on Polycount - though I've followed several threads and learned a lot from the community. I've been building up my portfolio and wanted to add a piece that was somewhat more stylized to the mix.

I am working from this original concept by Artyom Vlaskin:

800x718_9468_Pirates_house1_2d_architecture_fantasy_pirate_house_picture_image_digital_art.jpg

My goal was to do something bright, colorful, and almost more cartoony or stylized than I normally do. I'd like to focus on hand-painted textures and game res models. I intend to build it out in UDK with a primary focus on the building itself, but a bit of additional work on the scene around it (dock, trees, beach, ocean) to flesh out the space.

I've started with a color paint-over of the original concept:

PirateHouseColor1.jpg

I'll be updating regularly, trying to force myself to stay productive by posting here. I'd love any and all feedback the community is willing to offer!

Thanks!

Replies

• skylebones
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    skylebones polycounter lvl 10
    His original concept is awesome and I think your color paint over compliments it perfectly. I'm looking forward to seeing it in 3d.
  • legacyofpiracy
    Hello Again!

Just checking in with some progress on my scene. I've modeled out most of the house and surrounding dock, and I was hoping to get some feedback on it before getting too far into the unwrap. I've definitely found it to be a very complex shape and I've had to make a few adjustments from the concept. Since the concept didn't really give a sense of the back of the house I had to kinda make up a lot of that geometry - I added in a little balcony and some windows to flesh it out a bit.

PirateHouseModel1.jpg

PirateHouseModel1back.jpg

Any feedback or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!
  • legacyofpiracy