Home Technical Talk

Edge loops when adding detail

polycounter lvl 6
Offline / Send Message
Three65 polycounter lvl 6
Hello,
I am new to the forum, but have been visiting a lot and reading a lot on here. Seems like the best forum to join and a good one to be active in :). I have been learning 3D for the last year and a half and have been self taught mostly. I have watched a lot of training videos and read quite a bit, but I would still say I am a green horn when it all boils down to it. So in my quest to gain more knowledge on the subject I was wondering if anyone could shed some light on this for me. I was wondering when you start adding detail to your blockout model, is it important to keep your edge loops so they flow all the way to a edge and terminate? Hopefully the pic I have included will help clear up this question. I am adding some holes for detail to my model and as you can see where the red arrows are is the end of my edge loop and is creating some N-Gons :poly122: I know Polys are the way to go, so would it be important to take these lines all the way across the model to a edge? Or will this work ok? It seems to smooth fine however it is a nice flat surface and that could be the reason why. Anyhow if anyone could point me in the right direction on where I can read up on it I don't mind doing the work. Or if someone has some insite they can share I would appreciate it. To me it just seems like if your going to add detail like this it could get tricky very fast and perhaps messy. So I would like to learn the best way to go about this so I can pratice good habits.

edgeloops.jpg

Replies

• BARDLER
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    BARDLER polycounter lvl 12