Home Technical Talk

Problem with normal map baking

polycounter lvl 12
Offline / Send Message
Hayden Zammit polycounter lvl 12
Been stuck on this problem when baking with normal maps.

You can see the problem in this pic. Its going weird at that front face and a little further back.

Was hoping someone can tell me what causes these problems. I'm using Maya and baking my maps inside of Maya.

qXvbH.jpg

Replies

• SelwynPhillips
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    SelwynPhillips polycounter lvl 11
    I get alot of trouble with baking normal maps too. Hardening the egdes of the low poly might fix that strange gradient....... However, I might be wrong in suggesting this as I'm still learning myself. Give it a go, see what happens and tell me how wrong I am when it doesn't work :P
  • ZacD
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    ZacD ngon master
    If you have having normal map issues, you should always post your highpoly, low poly, wireframes for the low poly, and your normal map, its hard to tell whats wrong otherwise.
  • Hayden Zammit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Okay, here's the high poly.

BiTqk.jpg

And here's the low poly with the wireframe.

XoNSV.jpg

and here's the normal map I'm getting for this part. UVs aren't final. Just testing.

a6NZm.jpg
  • cptSwing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    cptSwing polycounter lvl 11
    Yeah, I'd try hardening some of the harsh angles and breaking your uv along the same edges. It should get rid of the wonky shading - though it's strange that only that side has odd shading.
  • JohnnyRaptor
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    JohnnyRaptor polycounter lvl 15
    yeah add hard edges on the mesh along the UV seams
  • Hayden Zammit
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
    Okay, I'll try the hard edges, though I always thought that you were supposed to have all your normals set to smooth.
  • cptSwing
    Options
    Offline / Send Message
  • dirigible
    Options